Stan Wawrinka out for remainder 2017 season with knee injury:

Wawrinka.jpg
Stan Wawrinka after winning the US Open title in 2016 (Credit: REUTERS)

Stan Wawrinka will undergo knee surgery in hopes of preserving his future career.

“I am sad to announce that after talking with my team and doctor I had to make a difficult decision to undergo a medical intervention on my knee. This was the only solution to make sure I will be able to compete at the top level for many more years,” Wawrinka announced on Facebook.

“This is obviously extremely disappointing, but I’m already looking ahead and planning my recovery. I love this sport and I will work hard to get back to my top level and play many more years. I also want to take this opportunity to thank my fans for sending plenty of messages of support during the last couple of days. I will see you all in 2018!”

The reigning US Open champion will not be able to defend the title he won a year ago, and if current predictions stand, the number #4  – having accumulated 3,120 points this year – could fall to #10 in the world.

After a season which saw him make the finals of Indian Wells and Roland Garros, Stan Wawrinka lost in the first round of the two grass-court tournaments he entered: Queen’s Club & Wimbledon.

During his defeat to Daniil Medvedev at Wimbledon, the Swiss player could be seen applying an ice pack to his left knee.

The Swiss player will join Novak Djokovic, who called his season short due to an elbow injury.

Author: thetypographical

Hi, my name is Thomas Parkes. I'm 18, a budding journalist, and a student at Bournville College. This website will be a collection of my journalism pieces.

Leave a Reply

