Djokovic splits with team in attempt to regain form

novak-djokovic-2017-storylines.jpg
Novak Djokovic (CREDIT: ATP/Getty Images)

Novak Djokovic, world number 2. has split with his entire coaching team in order to regain the “winning spark” after a series of subpar results. The Serbian sensation said the decision was “mutual” with his coach Marian Vajda, fitness coach Gebhard Phil Gritsch, and psyiotherapist Miljan Amanovic.

Djokovic has claimed that the “shock therapy” of this seismic change will improve his results. On the latter’s website, the world number 2 posted a statement regarding this decision:

“I am forever grateful to Marian, GG and Miljan for decade of friendship, professionalism and commitment to my career goals. Without their support I couldn’t have achieved these professional heights. I know they completely dedicated themselves and their lives to help me achieve my dreams and they were always my driving force and wind in my back. It was not an easy decision, but we all felt that we need a change. I am very grateful and proud of our relationship and unbreakable bond that we built through years of mutual love, respect and understanding. They are my family and that will never change”

This news after a recent lack of form in 2017, which saw Djokovic lose in the Australian Open in the second round, the quarterfinals of the Mexican Open, the fourth round at Indian Wells; a subsequent injury which rendered him unable to defend his Miami Open title, and finally, a recent appearance at the Monte-Carlo Masters in the quarterfinals.

Only time will tell if Novak Djokovic wwill regain the form which rendered him nearly unstoppable in previous seasons.

Author: thetypographical

Hi, my name is Thomas Parkes. I'm 18, a budding journalist, and a student at Bournville College. This website will be a collection of my journalism pieces.

Leave a Reply

